Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How Come Pork Butts take S-O-O-O Long

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to BGE - BUTT I've BBQ'd at least 100 Butts. I always cook at 225 - 230 for one and one-quarter to one and one-half hours per pound. Result = moist, tender, great tasting pulled pork. So how come you guys are cooking Butts at 225 for 15-20 hours? 225 is 225.[p]If you can cook ribs on a BGE at 225 to 250 in 4 hours or so (about the right amount of time for any cooker - IMHO)how come it takes all those extra hours in a BGE? I don't get it! mitch

Comments

• mollyshark
    mollyshark Posts: 1,519
    Options
    mItch in lincoln,[p]It's the smell. You sit there and inhale deeply for as long as possible. It leads to things. [p]mShark
  • JeffHughes
    JeffHughes Posts: 100
    Options
    mItch in lincoln,[p]225 dome is not 225 grill. 250 dome is more like it for a pork butt(or brisket or spares IMHO). [p]Jeff
  • Car Wash Mike
    Car Wash Mike Posts: 11,244
    Options
    mItch in lincoln,
    Cook like you want, the desired result is what everyone is concerned about. If it takes a shorter period of time and you like it, great.
    catbreathe.gif[p]Mike

• Salmon
    Salmon Posts: 146
    Options
    Emporia05009.jpg
    <p />Car Wash Mike,[p]Yo Mike, this pork took about 13 hours.[p]Rick
  • Good Golly Miss Molly, I think you've hit on something!!! And Car Wash Mike. Is that a K.S.U. Wildcat? G.B.R.![p]
  • The Naked Whiz
    Options
    mItch in lincoln,