Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It’s that time of year again-time to hop on out to your backyard for an EGG hunt. If you’re lucky, you’ll only have to search as far as your patio! Planning on cooking Easter Sunday? Check out our Easter Menu. If you’re looking for a sweet treat to enjoy with the whole family, try at least one of our sweet treats, if not both: Grilled Peeps & Carrot Cupcakes. Lastly, if you’re having company, our Pinterest page has lots of ideas for entertaining. We hope you have an EGGstra tasty holiday!

The Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new location and check out the museum! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Brisket: need help preparing this "heavy" cut

So I decided I wanted to do a brisket Sunday... At my local restaurant supply store I found what looked like a nice cut but it is my first time and I am not sure how to trim the meat. It is a 13 lb cut labeled as "Brisket - Heavy." I could not find a "packer" cut or a "flat" cut, both names I recognize from my research. But this cut looks like it has both the flat and the point. 

Here are pictures:

The unpictured side looks just like the "fat cap" pics I have seen on packer cuts. 

I think I just want to trim the fat down to around 1/8" all around ... unless a "heavy" cut is a completely different beast?

Thanks for any advice you can offer for my first brisket cool!

·

Comments

• travisstricktravisstrick Posts: 4,747
    That, sir, is a packer brisket. And Angus too. 

The core of brisket cooking is simple. Cover in rub of choice and cook at 300 dome until it is tender. (use a fork to test. It should slide in and out with no resistance.)

Its really that simple. 
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
    ·
  • Que_n_BrewQue_n_Brew Posts: 557
    You can YouTube "BBQ with Franklin...The Brisket". He shows you step by step how to trim.
    PROUD MEMBER OF THE WHO DAT NATION!
    ·