Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
We hope everyone’s enjoying the first few days of summer. For us, the weather heating up means one thing - the EGG’s gonna be busy! Whether you’re making stuffed burgers for a backyard grill out, some brats before a baseball game or searing a steak for dinner on the patio, we hope you’re doing it with full flavor and having fun all the while!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Brisket: need help preparing this "heavy" cut

So I decided I wanted to do a brisket Sunday... At my local restaurant supply store I found what looked like a nice cut but it is my first time and I am not sure how to trim the meat. It is a 13 lb cut labeled as "Brisket - Heavy." I could not find a "packer" cut or a "flat" cut, both names I recognize from my research. But this cut looks like it has both the flat and the point. 

Here are pictures:

The unpictured side looks just like the "fat cap" pics I have seen on packer cuts. 

I think I just want to trim the fat down to around 1/8" all around ... unless a "heavy" cut is a completely different beast?

Thanks for any advice you can offer for my first brisket cool!

·

Comments

• travisstricktravisstrick Posts: 4,821
    That, sir, is a packer brisket. And Angus too. 

The core of brisket cooking is simple. Cover in rub of choice and cook at 300 dome until it is tender. (use a fork to test. It should slide in and out with no resistance.)

Its really that simple. 
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
    ·
  • Que_n_BrewQue_n_Brew Posts: 560
    You can YouTube "BBQ with Franklin...The Brisket". He shows you step by step how to trim.
    PROUD MEMBER OF THE WHO DAT NATION!
    ·
  • henapplehenapple Posts: 14,429