Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

turbo pork butt

Well this is my first attempt at a turbo butt cook, got dome temp at 320 to 340, its cold so kinnda moving betwen the two, not to concerned about that. Going for IT of 200, does this sound good? Also I have it foiled, I heard no foil no turbo, guess I'll see what happens. 

Comments

• Charlie tuna
    Charlie tuna Posts: 2,191
    Turbo butt cooking starts with cold meat --  cooking as low as you can, while exposing maximum smoke to the butt until you reach a minimum internal temperature of 160 degrees, at that pojnt the butt gets wrapped in a few layers of foil to seal the meat up and prevent it from loosing any juices.  Back on the grill -- at that point you can bump the temperature up to 300 or 330.  Continue cooking til a 200 degree internal is met !
  • Well next time I will do it right. This time I will chalk it up to a new experiment.  
  • Scottborasjr
    Scottborasjr Posts: 3,494
    What temp you working at @chris123stock?

I raise my kids, cook and golf.  When work gets in the way I'm pissed, I'm pissed off 48 weeks a year.
    Inbetween Iowa and Colorado, not close to anything remotely entertaining outside of football season. 
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Chris, what temp did you foil at?

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,162