Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first smoked brisket

Options
Hello everyone, this is my first try at cooking my own brisket. It didn't come out too great in my opinion, but my friends seemed to like it. If you put enough barbeque sauce and onions on it did make a good sandwich. I thought it tasted a little greasy and bland but was quite tender so I am very optimistic about the future.

I guess after over 13yrs since moving to Austin, TX it was long overdue. Should be a rite of passage in my mind.

"are you a real Texan?"
"yeah, sure, I'm from Texas."
"so...how do you cook your brisket?"
"umm, I don't know, I've never cooked a brisket before."
"well then I guess you're not a real Texan after all."

I never heard of a Green Egg before either, but some guy I was BS'ing with one night at a hotel bar in San Antonio said it was the one to get if I wanted to be "The Neighborhood BBQ King." That random conversation covering all things BBQ went on for maybe a couple hours before we parted ways, He was a pro and seemed to really know his stuff so a few weeks later I bit the bullet and bought one like he said and now here I am.

I only got to cook on it 3 times before I was sent overseas, but in that short period of time I grew unusually fond of it.

Keep the stories coming, I guess for now I have to do all my barbeques through y'alls eyes before I can get back about this business of becoming "The Neighborhood BBQ King."

...and about all the acronyms...y'all should consider posting a glossary for those.

Gittin' there...

Comments

• pgprescott
    pgprescott Posts: 14,544