Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It doesn’t get much hotter than the EGG cookin’ in July! Make sure to keep yourself hydrated with a bit of whatever you’re using for the Beer Can Chicken. Ice Cream Sandwiches are also a great way to stay cool. Looking for some great ideas for a summer cook out? Try out a Pimento Cheeseburger or Dr. BBQ’s Spare Rib Surprise. Just don’t be surprised if your neighbors stop by for a quick bite when they smell what you’re cooking!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Lobster Tails on the BGE

bwalekbwalek Posts: 2
edited February 2012 in Seafood

Any suggestions for 2 - 1 lb tails...... I'm pretty new at the egg and want to make some nice tails on Valentines day !

Direct or Indirect ??? Time and Temp.

Thank you

·

Comments

• IrishDevlIrishDevl Posts: 1,390
    I have always been a boiled water and lobster tail kind of guy.  Don't know if the egg adds anything here.
    ·
  • I have grilled many hundred lobster tail. None on the egg but enough to know how. 

Cut out the bottom part of the carapace (in a U shape)
    Put Tails Shell down
    Grill indirect till the meat starts to separate from the remaining carapace. 

Thats it. The rest is up to you. I like to season with cilantro and lime.
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
    ·
  • Grill tails are awesome, i definitely suggest trying them grilled if you have not.

·
  • IrishDevlIrishDevl Posts: 1,390
    I have eaten grilled lobster before, just think boiled is always my favorite.  
    ·
  • Hillbilly-HightechHillbilly-Hightech Posts: 966
    edited February 2012
    Here's a suggestion w/ some good tips:

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/1136069/lobster#Item_1

HTH,
    Rob