Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
With winter in full gear, we’re enjoying all the awesome photos of EGGs in the cold weather. Stay warm with some of our favorite Dutch oven recipes: Chicken & Dumplings, Chili Con Carne and BLT Soup.

The Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new location and check out the museum! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Lobster Tails on the BGE

bwalekbwalek Posts: 2
edited February 2012 in Seafood

Any suggestions for 2 - 1 lb tails...... I'm pretty new at the egg and want to make some nice tails on Valentines day !

Direct or Indirect ??? Time and Temp.

Thank you

·

Comments

• IrishDevlIrishDevl Posts: 1,390
    I have always been a boiled water and lobster tail kind of guy.  Don't know if the egg adds anything here.
    ·
  • I have grilled many hundred lobster tail. None on the egg but enough to know how. 

Cut out the bottom part of the carapace (in a U shape)
    Put Tails Shell down
    Grill indirect till the meat starts to separate from the remaining carapace. 

Thats it. The rest is up to you. I like to season with cilantro and lime.
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
    ·
  • Grill tails are awesome, i definitely suggest trying them grilled if you have not.

·
  • IrishDevlIrishDevl Posts: 1,390
    I have eaten grilled lobster before, just think boiled is always my favorite.  
    ·
  • Hillbilly-HightechHillbilly-Hightech Posts: 966
    edited February 2012
    Here's a suggestion w/ some good tips:

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/1136069/lobster#Item_1

HTH,
    Rob
    Don't get set into one form, adapt it and build your own, and let it grow, be like water. Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless — like water. Now you put water in a cup, it becomes the cup... Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend. - Bruce Lee
    ·