Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first BGE Chicken... Need Help!

I am a BGE salesman. The owner told me, "Sell 25 eggs and I'll give you your own large egg"... Well I did it! (Not going to disclose how long it took...lol) In any case now that I have my egg, I'm been practicing regulating the temperature, and cooking several small things just until I get a little more comfortable with spending more money on more expensive meals. This weekend I would like to cook two whole chickens. I have looked online and I see the "sitt'n chicken receipts", and the "spatchcock chicken" receipts, but I'm looking for something a little more solid/simple. As a beginner, all I am looking to do is get my egg at a certain temp, season it in and out with a good rub, and cook the chickens slowly with the plate setter and drip pan. Can anyone recommend a simple recipe that tastes great? All I'm looking for is a moist chicken. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

-Wes

Comments

• GrannyX4
    GrannyX4 Posts: 1,491
    edited January 2013
    Spatched is the easiest and best in my opinion. Raised grate, direct, at 400. Do not flip. 160 breast ;;)
    Every day is a bonus day and every meal is a banquet in Winter Springs, Fl !
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    edited January 2013
    Do you have away to cook at minimum of gasket level or higher? For simple just salt and pepper the damn thing. It's all good. Where do you sell Eggs?