Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

chicken help

Options
So I am new to the xl bge. I have good success with ribs etc but I am not completely happy with my chicken results. I have done hundreds of batches of cornell chicken on my 26" weber and it has become a family and friend favorite. I have tried to do this my xl bge and the chicken looks awesome but is missing something.

On the weber I would have a two zone fire and start the chicken over the coals to brown it, then move it over the area with no coals and cook it for the last 45 minutes while basting it every 10 minutes or so. Doing it this way the chicken has a very good flavor and the skin is very crispy like fried chicken. I cook it at 350 to 375 lid temp.

On the egg I start it over the fire direct with the ring in and after browning the skin added the plate setter legs up with a drip pan under the grate. I cooked it at 375 to 400 dome temp. Chicken had decent flavor, but the skin was rubbery. It was also like the chicken didnt absorb the baste.

I also use either pecan or oak wood chips, I will say that the egg seemed to have more smoke flavor. I use kingsford blue bag with the weber and bge lump on the xl. I have attached a picture of the set up and the completed chicken.

I tried to rase the grid to do the whole cook direct with fire bricks, but it would not fit/ was pretty wobbly. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Options