Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How to achieve raised direct?

Options
Newbie here
Can someone tell me how to achieve "raised direct" cooking that I read about here.
I just got my baby, I mean egg so I'm learning a lot. My sweet hubby got me the Large egg, and the plate setter for Christmas, but those are the only pieces I have. I already have my eye on some more pieces but those will probably go on my wish list for now. That being said - an accessory recommendation for raised direct would be great, but if there is way to achieve this without a large purchase right now it would be helpful.
A few of you suggested basics like kabobs or burgers for my first cook and a lot what I see calls for raised direct. I was hoping to not have to wait for an accessory before I use my egg.

Thank you!
-Carrie

Comments

• Philicious
    Options
    I got 2 firebricks and cut them in half - making 4 pieces. You can get the bricks at a fireplace store or a brick yard.
    Born and raised in NOLA. Now live in East TN.
  • lecrams
    lecrams Posts: 116
    Options
    Welcome to the club! A spider or a woo are 2 ways to achieve raised direct. You can purchase them from ceramicgrillstore.com. However, you can cook quite a bit without either. In fact, I inherited my egg from my grandfather 8 years ago and just received my first spider yesterday. Happy cooking!

• Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    edited December 2012
    Options
    The idea of raised direct is to get the cooking grid at the felt line, where the dome and the base meet.