Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

cold-smoking

Options

I've been egging for several years, and I'm finally working up the nerve to do cold smoking - first some cheese, then salmon and trout.  I have a Medium and an XL, and plan to have the fire in the Medium, ducting the smoke to the XL, where the goodies will be.  I've been all over the forum for some succinct instructions on brining, and hopefully cooking times.  I know I want to keep the temperature below 100 degrees, and I'm hoping that will work with my arrangement on a cold day (40's in Northern Virginia).  I am aware that opinions vary as to hot smoking vs. cold smoking, but I'm determined to try this. 

Any help, comments, etc., will be very much appreciated. 

Electric Don

Comments

• U_tarded
    U_tarded Posts: 2,042
    Options
    I am part of this bacon craze going I around here. I am halfway through the second 10 lb batch of the cure and I want to cold smoke at least half of it. Check out this thread a lot of good infomation on there.

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/1146173/cold-smoke-vs-hot-smoked-belly#latest
  • Bugster
    Options