Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Christmas cooks -- need suggestions

A severe cold front with high winds are on the way, so it sounded like a great idea to do a 14.5 pound brisket tonight.  Pics (including of seasonal beverages, most importantly), to follow.

For Christmas we've decided to do a small turkey on the Egg.  I've never done one before.  Suggestions?  Only thing I'm kind of tied to is using sugar maple to smoke with, because that's what I've got.  Fire away, Eggheads.  

Comments

• robnybbq
    robnybbq Posts: 1,911
    Spatchcock the turkey - best turkey you will ever have.

Garnerville, NY
  • YEMTrey
    YEMTrey Posts: 6,829
    Nice.  I'm off work all next week so I might bust my brisket cherry then.  Good luck with yours.
    Steve 
    XL, Mini Max, and a 22" Blackstone in Cincinnati, Ohio

• SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    edited December 2012
    +1 on @robnybboq...and to quote @nolaegghead...

rock out with your spatchcock out. You will love it. I think the maple smoke will go nice with the turkey. 

Which came first the chicken or the egg?  I egged the chicken and then I ate his leg. 

• Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    edited December 2012
    Spatchcocked Turkey ((( I will try the maple next time )))
    (you cut out the backbone and cook opened)
    I like a 11/12 lb bird. If I need lots of turkey I just cook a couple ( 1 & 1/2 hr cook app)
    Or, just add a package of legs extra.
    I do not brine the turkey.
    If time I like to leave uncovered in the fridge overnight (no problem if no time)