Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Recommend a Pizza Stone

Greetings all.

I'm a long time lurker, first time caller.  I've been enjoying my large BGE for about 14 months now and love it.  I learn something every time I use it.

A couple days ago, we cooked up some pizza and they turned out the best we've ever made.  I think in part due to the 700° temp that we cooked at.  The only problem we encountered was that the pizza stone we used broke in two.  It was a Pampered Chef stone that my wife has had for years.  Luckily, there was enough left of it to finish our last pizza but now I'm in the market for a new stone.

I ran a search but couldn't find anything suggesting one over another.  I see that BGE sells a stone but they are slim on details.  I think I want something that is thick rather than thin as I believe thermal mass helps.

Any suggestions or recommendations are appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• the stones that tom has at ceramicgrillstore.com are nice and thick. i have both 16" and 13"...they're really good quality. i routinely do pizzas at 800*+ with no cracking issues.
  • I have the BGE XL Pizza stone. It is hefty, thicker than the others I looked at. You won't be disappointed if you go that route.
    "Take yourself lightly, but what you do seriously." - M. Martin XL BGE - Johnston, IA
  • PC stones don't like going over 450, so you were lucky to get a few cooks out of it. As Quinn says, the CGS stones have a good reputation.