Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Thanksgiving Turkey - Cooking Time and Temp??

Options

Folks, I could use some guidance.  I am a BGE newbie.  I will be cooking a 14.5 pound turkey on the large BGE tomorrow.  I am already brining it.  I have seen on here that it should be cooked until the internal temp is 160-165 in the breast, maybe 180 in the legs.  No problem there.  I plan on using the plate setter for indirect heat, and a sittin turkey to keep it upright, as well as create some internal steam from a mix of naranja agria (sour orange), onions and garlic.  Here is my question:

WHAT SHOULD BE MY TARGET COOKING TEMPERATURE, AND WHAT IS THE ESTIMATED COOKING TIME UNTIL READY?

Your comments are appreciated and urgently needed.  Thanks!

Comments

• JJRod305
    Options

After reading through some of the posts, 300-350 degrees seems to be the consensus for temperature, and 12-15 mins per pound for time, which puts me at 3.0 to 3.5 hours of cooking time.  Do you all agree with that?

• JerkChicken
    Options
    I'm doing a 14.5# as well, and the consensus seems to be 350 dome temp for about 15 minutes per pound. So your bird should be done around 3.5 hrs. 
    LBGE, Weber OTG w/ Rotisserie, Weber Genesis S-330, Chargriller Duo, AR-15, AK-47
  • JerkChicken
    Options