Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Moldy Egg

I'm sad to come here with this issue.  I am a personal chef and when I leave the farm, anything goes.  The short of it is this,  the egg was and still is stored where I absolutely said it wasn't to be stored.   In a damp musty stinky shed that houses all things lawn and garden related, including stacks of fertilizer, which puts a stench throughout the shed.  When I came back from Maine a week ago,  I went looking for the egg,  kinda like an Easter egg hunt.  The lawn shed was the last place I wanted to look, but when I cracked the door open,  there it was sitting in there without even it's cover on it.  

When I opened the lid,  I almost vomited on site.   The stainless rack is covered with a coating of FUZZY mold and the whole interior of the egg has a mold layer on it as well.   

Anybody out there know what to do about this situation?  I know that soap and water is out of the question,  so do I just wipe as much off as possible and then load it with charcoal and let it run at high temp to burn it off or is it toast?   

Any input as to what to do would be appreciated.   Thanks and have a great T-day ahead.  The good news is that I won't be cooking with it for T-day.. ;o))

Comments

• Just do a hot burn.

Steve 

Caledon, ON