Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need soy ginger sauce for Mad Max's Crab Cakes

Options
Wino
Wino Posts: 69
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Going to do Mad Max’s Crab Cakes tonight. Thought a nice Asian soy ginger sauce would work well. Any good recipes for a sauce like that, or any other good sauces you might suggest.
Thanks
Wino

Comments

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options
    Wino,
    That does sound purty good. I am far from a sauce expert, but I do a lot of playing around. Just thinkin out loud, but would probably start by caramelizing some finely chopped onion with the ginger, then deglazing with sherry. Cook that down and add some chicken broth, some sugar or honey, then soy sauce (or even oyster sauce) until you get the salt level you want, some fresh ground pepper, then a squirt of Sriracha chilie sauce and reduce until it is a good consistency. You could also thicken with corn starch/water.[p]My favorite sauce on the cakes is a base of dijon mustard/horsradish mayo/olive oil...squirt of vinegar, dash of lime juice dash of Tsunami. But your ginger idea really sounds good.
    Beers!
    Chris

DizzyPigBBQ.com
    Twitter: @dizzypigbbq
    Facebook: Dizzy Pig Seasonings
    Instagram: @DizzyPigBBQ
  • badbruce
    badbruce Posts: 353
    Options
    Mornin' Wino,
    I couldn't find a recipe for either the crab cakes or the ginger sauce in the archives.
    If you come up with a link please post it.
    Thanks,
    bruce[p]

• Wino
    Options
    Nature Boy,