Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
We hope you all had a big green St. Patrick’s Day! While you’re waiting for it to be Easter time, try some of the new recipes we’ve recently added to our website. One of our favorite dishes is the Easy Jambalaya with Beef, and our favorite sweet & savory treat is the Sweet Cream Crostini.

The Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new location and check out the museum! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Fat Side up vs. Fat Side Down

Hey Everyone, as I read through the discussions I noticed some folks tend to do their brisket or pork butt, fat side down, while others tend to do them fat side up. I've been doing them fat side up because I want the fat (i.e. flavor) to go down into the meat. Does this really happen though? I would assume this debate would be important if were weren't using an egg since the egg is a very efficient cooker.  However, I am no expert and I'm still learning the art bbq and I am curious what other people had to say about this. 
·

Comments

• __________________________________________

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

·
  • It makes almost no difference. The only difference it makes for me is the fat down can help protect from direct heat.
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
    ·
  • Doesn't really matter. That fat doesn't really go 'down into the meat'. It drips down over the sides and ends up in your drip pan.
    ·
  • fishlessmanfishlessman Posts: 16,624
    when the fat melts it washes off your rub, some cut all the fat off a butt so that doesnt happen and the bark forms heavier
    ·
  • Fat down for me.

........................................................................................

Flint, Michigan.  Named the most dangerous city in America by the F.B.I. three years running.

We invented the U.A.W. and carjacking!

·