Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st bisket

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Okay boys and girls I need you help once again. I know this is becoming a weekly thing but hey I'm new to all of this. So here is my sitution. I getting ready for the big weekend and decide I wanted to smoke a brisket. I'm going to the store tonight to pick the best one up I see. Will us a dry rub with mustard and let it sit over night and start it up about 9:00 in the morning. Question is how long to I smoke the brisket and at what temp.? I might also do some ribs but I know that at 220 or 230 for about 3 hours will work for those. It is the same on a bisket? [p][p]

Comments

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    double j,
    Briskets take much longer than ribs. They need time to be broken down properly. I have been using 250 dome temp, and cooking them indirect over a drip pan. They all cook differently, but will take 2 - 3 hours per pound...depending on thickness, toughness, and cooking level temperature. [p]Sounds like you are on the right track with your preperation, but you will need to allow PLENTY of time. When do you plan on eating, and what size brisket were you thinking about??[p]Enjoy...it don't get much better.
    NB

DizzyPigBBQ.com
    Twitter: @dizzypigbbq
    Facebook: Dizzy Pig Seasonings
    Instagram: @DizzyPigBBQ
  • double j,
    I was just going through the archives for a step by step on briskets and beef! Need help couldn't find exactly what I needed.