Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

china plate for heat deflector?

Newbie here.
I've bbq'd a long time but just got into the ceramic  thing.  I don't have a plate setter.  Cooked my first ribs last weekend.  Really great, but then I don't need to tell you guys.

Anyway, I'm a hopeless tinkerer so I'm looking at some old cheap  used  china plates from Red  Lobster, really.  I am wondering, will those plates  work as a heat deflector?  Will they hold up to the heat or will they just shatter?  From what I've read china is actually cured to a higher temperature than ceramic. 

tks
don

Comments

• My guess is shatter, but try it!
    LBGE, Weber OTG w/ Rotisserie, Weber Genesis S-330, Chargriller Duo, AR-15, AK-47
  • ShedFarm
    ShedFarm Posts: 499
    I think you would be better off, getting your hands on a few fire bricks. They're still cheap, and are known to work as a great heat deflector.
    BJ (Powhatan, VA)
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,665
    theres always alot of talk about platesetters and heat retention in the egg, with a low and slow you dont need extra heat retention, the egg has enough. what you need is a simple heat shield, a pie plate or tin, some folded tin foil, anything to rederect the heat works for a low and slow
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102