Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Tips for starting the Egg - Bringing to temp.

Options
Aztec
Aztec Posts: 2
edited March 2012 in Using the Egg
I've been using the egg on a regular basis now for 2 months.  I love what it can do, and have read lots, and viewed many videos on tips and tricks from fellow eggheads.  One issue I continue to battle is starting the Egg.  From what I keep reading and seeing, is that it heats up and cools down quickly.  I'm not seeing that.

Here is my typical start:

Open Egg dome.
Open vent
Place Natural fire starter in center of lump
Let sit for 10 minutes or so.
Close dome and open full function metal top.
Wait 30 plus minutes for it to reach 350.....  Is this normal?  If not, what can I do in order to make the Egg's temperature regulate faster.  Don't get me started on how long it takes to reach 600.

Seals are good, Thermometer is calibrated.  I'm at a loss, and need some expert advice.

Comments

• gabriegger
    gabriegger Posts: 682
    Options
    Are your air holes in the fire box and fire ring clear of small pieces of lump? Make sure they are for proper air flow. I use the same process but once the dome is closed I set the bottom and top vents to approx positions for desired cook temps. I've never waited that long to hit 350. Check out the ceramic grill store online and look at the wiggle rod. I've cut and bent a heavier wire hanger into the L-shape and use it through the bottom vent to 'wiggle' the lump from below to allow for more air flow creating more fire. Good luck!

the city above Toronto - Noodleville wtih 2 Large 1 Mini