Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New Forum Member Saying Hello (w/ Pictures)

2»

Comments

• gfavor
    gfavor Posts: 74
    I was checking our your web site, found "Photo Tip-Photos to Help Learn a Grill".  I'm new to the BGE too. Question: After you get your coals initially lit, how soon do you close the BGE lid to begin controlling the temp; immediately, xx minutes, etc?
  • r270ba
    r270ba Posts: 763
    gfavor said:
    I was checking our your web site, found "Photo Tip-Photos to Help Learn a Grill".  I'm new to the BGE too. Question: After you get your coals initially lit, how soon do you close the BGE lid to begin controlling the temp; immediately, xx minutes, etc?
    I would say it depends on what type of cook you are doing.  

If you are doing a low and slow (225-275) I usually take my electric ignitor out after about 10 mins (when I see a decent flame but the lump is a roaring fire).  I then put the Daisy Wheel completely closed but with the vents about half open.  The vent on the bottom is opened maybe 1/2".

If I am wanting to do more of a grill cook (350-500), I will leave the ignitor in until I have good flames going and then I pull it out, and spread the lump.  I leave the DW open all the way and have the vent at the bottom open half way.

I have not done high temp yet but from what I have read, get a good fire going then remove the DW and open the bottom vent all the way.