Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I'm gonna start eating "Travis Style" oysters

Village Idiot
Village Idiot Posts: 6,959
edited October 2012 in EggHead Forum
I've never been an oyster eater.  Looking at people slurping down live, raw oysters has turned my stomach in the past.
However, there must be something to it - so many people like them.  Also, my new Cajun cookbook is full of oyster recipes.
So, in 20 minutes, when Williams Sonoma opens, I'm going there to buy an oyster knife.  I saw two videos on how to shuck, so I am an expert.

Travis was a big hit at Salado with his grilled oysters.  I think I'll try his way, if I can find live oysters to buy.
Thanks, Travis !! 

Dripping Springs, Texas.
Just west of Austintatious

Comments

• travisstrick
    travisstrick Posts: 5,002
    The quintessential oyster knife is a straight forward affair. White handle and 2 1/2 or 3in blade. Avoid the trendy short blades with huge choils. 

What to get:

What not to get:
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
  • Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    A flat bladed screwdriver will work in a pinch. Also a good pair of gloves similiar to these.
      No gloves, can get badly cut hands.

http://www.harborfreight.com/6-pairs-two-sided-pvc-dot-gloves-30413.html

We like them raw or lightly steamed on BGE.  Lemon juice, horseradish, butter and saltine crackers.  Sometimes cook with bacon, cheese, spinach bread crumbs and a few other choices.

Here is one idea:
    Oysters, Italian

INGREDIENTS:  

Procedure: