Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need table advice!

viamarco
viamarco Posts: 4
edited October 2012 in EGG Table Forum
I am close to finishing my BGE table using the plans from the naked whiz site. I am having a difficult time deciding to use a paver stone or a tile on the bottom shelf. My concerns are due to heat and cracking. Can someone from experience speak about which route would be better and safer. I plan on using feet on the egg as well. I'm guessing this will help with heat as well. This may be a basic question but I am a newbie. I actually don't have the egg yet. I am going to purchase once I finish this hopefully in a few days. Thanks Mark

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    If you have the egg on the feet so you have an air gap, either one would work.  The air gap is the best insulator.  If you don't have the air gap, then the paver would be better.
    You won't get feet with the new Egg unless the dealer has some.

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution...

Large & Small BGE

Stockton Ca.

• nolaegghead
    Yeah, I think they're trying to sell more nests. 

If you don't get any feet, you can improvise with ramekins or some non-flammable spacer to create an air gap.
  • nolaegghead
    I burnt the bottom of my shelf doing that.  It was a thin paver.
  • I thought about recessing the paver to be flush with the wood. Any thoughts on if I should recess it or or just have it resting on lower shelf?
  • I would rest it on the lower shelf.
    Mark Annville, PA