Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I'm no engineer, but I'm not stupid

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I own a large V rack I purchased from my BGE dealer so I assume I have the official "eggcessory" and not some knock off. Ever since I happened to read the product description I have been perplexed. Specifically it reads, "Designed for smoking hams, roasts, vension, large fish etc." (I assume in the center of the V, right? with me so far?) Then it goes on and says, In INVERTED position it becomes a rack for ribs, chops etc." What am I missing here that the inverted position has over the upright position?...a smig closer to the fire? There's no more rack space on one side than the other. Sign me a perplexed kat...perhaps with too much time on my hands, but perplexed just the same! ^oo^~

Comments

• JimW
    JimW Posts: 450
    one feral kat,
    The inverted rack holds the ribs in a vertical position. That way you can get up to 6 baby back racks into the Egg. Otherwise the max is probably three. Closer to the fire has nothing to do with it.
    JimW

• JimW, you mean like standing them vertically to the fire? How could they ever get cooked uniformly? You're pulling my leg aren't you? Anbody got a picture? Of the rack, not JimW pulling my leg![p]
  • Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    one feral kat,
    Look on TimM's site. The eggfest 200 pictures show both Cat's and my ribs in rib racks. I believe Cathy's is the v-rack style, where mine is a different style rib rack.[p]Lemme know if you can't find the pics.
    NB

DizzyPigBBQ.com