Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It’s almost Halloween and if you’re cooking on your EGG, you may end up with more people knocking on your door asking for pork chops than candy! In case you’re willing to share and want to please a crowd, we recommend warm Margherita Pizza, FGL’s Lemon Pepper Wings or our favorite, S’mores in a Cone!

If you missed the 17th Annual EGGtoberfest here are the highlights Click Here Fall is upon us, and it's a great time for getting out to one of the many #EGGfests around the country - see a list here

Plate Setter, Legs up or down, and WHY ?

jbstackjbstack Posts: 5
edited October 2012 in EggHead Forum
OK, newbie here, well compared to most of you guys and gals.  A few months and love it as expected.

My question, the plate setter is it intended to be uses Legs up, or Legs down?  Or does it matter?  I have read entries about blowing out gaskets if used legs down. But seems like only in higher temps, correct?  So what is the answer, or is it simply personnel preference?  Or is there a tried and true, down for this, and up for that.

Thanks so much,

Charlie Stackole

Comments

• GriffinGriffin Posts: 6,472

I go legs up for low and slow. Allows you to put a drip pan underneath your brisket/butt/turkey etc.

I go legs down for higher temps like pizza or when I'm going to bake something (cakes, cookies, pies, bread)

Of coarse, I blew my gasket along time ago. Eventually you will too no matter what you do.

Richardson, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• tyenic1tyenic1 Posts: 147