Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Plate Setter, Legs up or down, and WHY ?

jbstack
jbstack Posts: 13
edited October 2012 in EggHead Forum
OK, newbie here, well compared to most of you guys and gals.  A few months and love it as expected.

My question, the plate setter is it intended to be uses Legs up, or Legs down?  Or does it matter?  I have read entries about blowing out gaskets if used legs down. But seems like only in higher temps, correct?  So what is the answer, or is it simply personnel preference?  Or is there a tried and true, down for this, and up for that.

Thanks so much,

Charlie Stackole

Comments

• Griffin
    Griffin Posts: 8,200

I go legs up for low and slow. Allows you to put a drip pan underneath your brisket/butt/turkey etc.

I go legs down for higher temps like pizza or when I'm going to bake something (cakes, cookies, pies, bread)

Of coarse, I blew my gasket along time ago. Eventually you will too no matter what you do.

Rowlett, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• tyenic1
    tyenic1 Posts: 150
    As a general rule of thumb anything your smoking low and slow you go legs up. Anything your baking legs down and as far as very high temp cooks like pizza you will probably get a 50/50 response, I still go legs down with pizza and my gasket is still going strong. This is strictly my opinion and sure you will get some more responses. Hope it helps.
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    There's no right or wrong way.