Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
We hope you all had a big green St. Patrick’s Day! While you’re waiting for it to be Easter time, try some of the new recipes we’ve recently added to our website. One of our favorite dishes is the Easy Jambalaya with Beef, and our favorite sweet & savory treat is the Sweet Cream Crostini.

The Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new location and check out the museum! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Best Temp Gauge and Probe

nozob1nozob1 Posts: 43
edited September 2012 in EggHead Forum
Which is best temp gauge and probe do you like the best? I know that Naked Whiz likes the Polder..but which one?
·

Comments

• @nozob1 - check this other discussion, similar question, I have no working knowledge of the Polder other than the two food probe model. Has all kinds of presets and temp ranges based on standards, not easy to use to just monitor the temperature of your grill and food. 

I bought a Maverick ET-732 about two months ago based on suggestions from others on this forum- it has two probes one for the grid temp, one for the food. 
    works great and was <$50 delivered. Lots of sources out there. 
    It is my understanding the BGE thermometer is a Maverick in BGE clothing. 

Delta B.C. - Vee-Gan: old Indian word for poor hunter. 
    ·
  • I am not familiar with the Polder but I can vouch for the Maverick ET-732.  I have used this for over a dozen overnight cooks plus a bunch of 1-3 hour cooks.  Works great every time.  BTW I'm still on my first set of batteries.
    BakerMan - Purcellville, VA "When its smokin' its cookin', when its black its done"
    ·
  • +1 for Maverick ET-732
    My actuary says I'm dead.
    ·
  • Thanks all!  Best to buy From Amazon?
    ·
  • Love my Maverick 732 and bought from Amazon for cheap. I think it was like $50.
    ·
  • qprhooliganqprhooligan Posts: 118
    edited September 2012