Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Prepping for my first try at Pizza

Dan in StL
Dan in StL Posts: 254
edited September 2012 in EggHead Forum

I've been egging now for 5 years and I'm almost embarassed to say that I've yet to do a pizza.  Gonna go for it tomorrow.  I've done some research here, but wanted to get some advice before try the pie.

First, how important is it to have a BGE brand pizza stone?  We have a pizza stone, but it's significantly thinner that the BGE variety.  Any cause for concern or advice about the stone?

Next is temp.  I've seen a variety of temps used.. everything ranging from 450 to nuclear for the dome.  And I'm also assuming that it's important to get the stone up to some specific temp???

Last and not least - the setup.  Planning on going with legs down on the plate setter with some separation between the plate setter and the stone. 

Any advice, including what toppings to go with first, will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I've seen a variety of setups and temps recommended

Comments

• Pizza on the BGE has to be the one of the more fun dishes. I get my girls to select their toppings and all. They design the pizzas and I slide them on the egg. They don't want pizza any other way now. 
    Large BGE as of Father's day '12 http://www.jwhit.com
  • I set up with plate setter legs up and I use the BGE pizza stone. I like the thickness and the way it retains heat. Very good quality! I like the temp at around 600* but I've cooked at 500 and 700 with good results. 600 is my preference but I'm fairly new to egging.