Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Whats everyone cooking today

2»

Comments

• GrantM
    GrantM Posts: 3

Started a brisket flat at 11am.  This is my first try.  Plan on cooking for around 6 hours. We'll see how it goes.

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    babybacks going on in about an hour....nom nom nom
    Well, I've got two racks of nearly 4lbs each on now. First babyback attempt on the bge. No plate setter. No water pan. Paprika based rub with light brown sugar, ground mustard, kosher salt, black pepper, chili power, and cayenne. Soaked apple wood and 275 dome. Been on about 1.5 hrs.
    I plan on wrapping them after 2 1/2 hours with a little beer then letting the go another hour. Unwrap and slather with Sweet Baby Rays then carmelize for 15-20.

Any suggestions for best results using the direct heat method I am using would be appreciated.

Happy Egging!!!
  • Pork chops baked potatoes and asparagus and several Sam Adams Octoberfest
    Life is short,love what you do or do something else
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,167
    @defCon5-Size BGE?...I'm in the X-0-0 camp but run indirect.  Will be checking this one to see how the direct cook works out.  Given many do turbo ribs I suspect you will have a great result.  Let us know-key to any rib cook is "when are they finished??" Bend or toothpick test are your best indicators.  Bend-pick up by one end and if they bend around 90* then finished-my preference-the toothpick-insert into the thickest meat of the rib and when you get no resistance in or out-good to go.  Enjoy!