Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Table build thread - lots of pics

ETBee
ETBee Posts: 46
edited August 2012 in EGG Table Forum

I picked up my large Egg on Craigslist and it came with a table already made. Unfortunately, it was made of 1x4 untreated pine, so I figured it would not last long exposed to the elements on my deck. I'm a weekend woodworker, so naturally I had to undertake the project of building a table. Hopefully some of you will enjoy following my progress.

I headed off to the local lumber yard to pick up some rough sawn cypress.

Jointing all of these boards to assure I had a flat surface generated a lot of saw dust!

The planer generated an even larger pile of sawdust!

But when I was done I had some nice looking cypress.image

I glued together the nicest looking boards for the table top, then ran them through the sander to make sure everything was smooth and flat.

Three boards laminated together make up the legs.  I've been using Titebond III waterproof glue so it should be OK outside.

I decided to dress up the basic table with some gentle curves. Here's the jig for cutting a curve at the ends of the table top.

After curving both ends of the table top, I used a table edge bit to put a finished edge all around.

Now it was time to cut the opening for the large Egg to fit through.  I made several passes with the circle cutting jig, cutting a little deeper each time.

Eventually, it cut all the way through and I had a perfect 21 inch diameter hole.