Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Measurement question

Options
bjadams
bjadams Posts: 28
edited July 2012 in EGG Table Forum
Newbie here and not exactly Mr. Fixit.

I'm a bit confused about that table top to shelf top measurement for the large egg. I  have a new egg so I guess it has the spring type hinge. In visualizing this I am trying to understand, how crucial is this measurement? I'm guessing a measurement that is too small (say 13 inches) would place the egg too high in the table and a measurement that is too large would stop the cover from opening. The larger measurement, could be "fixed" by adding paver or brick to raise the egg. As I plan to put a paving stone on top of the bottom shelf and not recessed as some plans show I was going to use 17 inches. Does this sound alright?

Comments

• Airwolf
    Airwolf Posts: 76
    Options
    According to:

http://www.biggreenegg.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/BGE-TP-LARGE.pdf

You need to have a space of 15" measured from the top of the lower shelf to the top of the table.  If you use 17" then the stone needs to be at least 2".  When I created my table, I used 15" for the measurement and used a stone.  I have/had no issues and I think the air gap is about correct around the egg.

My setup:

• grillingunner
    Options