Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

spatchcock and size?

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
hi..and thanks for all of the great info! i have a question about chicken. this guy is big..i'm guessing around 8 pounds, could be more..got him at a amish-dutch market..sold as a roaster. would i make a mistake in spatchcocking it direct or should i go indirect (platesetter) and throw it in a v-rack... this is my first attempt at a whole chicken...but i'm not sure if the size would decide...
thanks much
gogo

Comments

• Eggvis
    Eggvis Posts: 94
    Options
    gogo,[p] As long as you can put that gorgeous bird on the large after you cut the back bone out, I'd say that spatching it is the same as if it were slighhtly smaller...
    I've heard of spatching a turkey, so you should be good to go. Maybe ice down the breasts before cooking....IMHO[p]Paul

• Unknown
    Options
    thanks....what do you think about indirect roasting at 500 sitting in a v-rack? i don't think a beer can will hold it? maybe? i'm not sure...my dad treated me to this egg and i wanted to surprise him with somethin' really good...i have most of the extras....and, before the egg, used kafka's roasting book....ahhhhh! wouldn't matter to me, just wanted to see him smile...thanks again, gogo

• HolySmokes
    HolySmokes Posts: 446
    Options
    gogo,[p]a vrack will work but it's not necessary; if you have the
    platesetter or similar to go indirect with a drip pan, the spatchcocked bird should sit flat on the grill without a problem.[p]it'll be great. don't sweat it.
    HS

• Grillicious