Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First attempt high heat ribeyes

booksw
booksw Posts: 470
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
I have been cooking on the Egg for a couple of months and have made a lot of different things and I LOVE it- seems like it is hard to ruin anything!  One thing amazing about it is how hot it can get and stay hot but I haven't really cooked yet on the other side of the temp guage.  Any suggestions for how to do a high heat ribeye?  
Charleston, SC

L/MiniMax Eggs

Comments

• Hi54putty
    Hi54putty Posts: 1,873
    Search for TRex method.
    XL,L,S 
    Winston-Salem, NC 
  • tazcrash
    tazcrash Posts: 1,852
    How thick are they?
    If over 1.5" check out Trex or reverse Trex.
    I just did some t-bones, and got by with just a straight seer.
    Just remember to pull it off a little early. High temps will produce some carry over cooking.
    Bx - > NJ ->TX!!! 
    All to get cheaper brisket! 
  • booksw
    I read the Trex- thanks for pointing me in that direction!  My steaks are only 1" thick.  Do you think I should try it anyway?  Also, he says to use olive oil on the steaks- I am concerned about the smoke point of even pure olive oil but maybe I shouldn't be (part of the point is to char the steak)?  I wonder what the smoke point is of cow fat
    Charleston, SC

L/MiniMax Eggs
  • booksw
    One other thing- I have always avoided sticking forks or other things into steaks as he says it lets juice escape- doesn't the same problem occur with the thermopen?  Why is that less of an issue?
    Charleston, SC

L/MiniMax Eggs
  • KingRover