Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Photos from lunch

allitnils
allitnils Posts: 109
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
So I grilled out today. First time in a while, but after yesterday's clean out, it felt good to light the egg up and fill it up with stuff!
I bought a bag of chicory hunks which I've never used before. I think three chunks might be a bit much though; while the chicken tasted fantastic (mostly due to the fact that it was in the egg for less than 10 minutes), the vegetables (which were in the egg for 1.5 hours), were a bit overpowered.
In any case, photos below:
1- starting the cook. Everything works out better with a glass of wine.
2- infusing saffron in milk for the steamed cauliflower puree.
3- Chicken breast, steamed cauliflower and saffron puree, on a balsamic and white wine mushroom reduction, and some wild mushrooms and sautéed onions.
4- the original plan was to cook a baked wheel of brie with rum infused raisins and slivered almonds.
I realised shortly thereafter that I was out of rum, and so I infused the raisins in chai tea instead. They turned out deliciously.
However, I left the cheese in the egg for too long and it kind of just melted completely; had no form at all.
I was skeptical about it anyway, so in case it didn't work out, I baked a chocolate taste with raspberry coolie, which was a bit of a hit. :)

The egg is holding temperature at 250, and has been for the past 9 hours, which I'm rather impressed by..
I'll let it run as long as it wants, to cure the glue properly..

Will be looking forward to the next grill out! 

Comments