Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie Hints on Table Building

Options
jeeplvr
jeeplvr Posts: 4
edited June 2012 in EGG Table Forum
I have a medium egg on a nest that would put a contortionist to shame when rolling across a brick patio.  Not to mention 3 big dogs that like to play around my egg.  This inspired me to build a table using Whiz's pattern.  I am not a professional egg table builder by far.  I only had a circular saw to cut with so some cuts are not straight.  Right now I have the frame done and some hints for newbies wanting to build a table.
  1. Do it, It's a challenge, you will make mistakes, cuts will not be perfect, but you built it and should be proud.  Anyone points out your mistakes doesn't get BBQ, period.
  2. I went to a lumber yard to get my wood.  Got a guy who estimates for contractors.  Took my material list and gave me exactly what I needed and figured out the most economical way.  I then added another 8 footer for my mistakes.
  3. I changed the dimensions.  Measure it up to a table and make sure your ok with the height and size.  I raised mine to kitchen counter height just cause I like that height.  Make sure you can get in your egg ok at the new height or size. 
  4. Measure twice, cut once.  Or in my case, measure twice, look at plans, think about it, measure again, look at plans, cut.  Thinking is the most important part.