Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It’s almost football season, so we’re perfecting our favorite tailgating and homegating recipes! Whether you like hamburgers, wings, brats, ribs or something cooked with beer, we have everything you’ll need for the perfect tailgate party. We always like inviting friends to join our tailgates because the EGG is about community and having fun, so make sure if you’re inviting company you make extra - the food will be gone before you know it! Don't forget dessert, either!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

3rd brisket and first maverick cook

ncbbqncbbq Posts: 257
edited June 2012 in EggHead Forum
This weekend I decided to try brisket again. This was a 4 lb flat which worried me from some of what I've read here from the brisket experts, but the price was right and I am still learning. I rubbed with 50/50 DP Cow Lick and turbinado sugar which I found on the DP website. Plate setter legs up and a few chunks of mesquite wood for some smoke. I cooked it around 225 - 240 for about six hours and then bumped it up to 250 to finish it off and pulled it at 196. This was my first cook with the Maverick ET-732 which is awesome. It gives you a lot more insight as to what is going on then just the dome thermometer. Definitely a good piece of equipment to have. I read a suggestion from someone on here (don't remember who) about clipping it to the back hinge of the egg and that worked great. Thanks to the poster that mentioned this.