Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Losing Fire

Options
rogerdunlap
rogerdunlap Posts: 2
edited June 2012 in EggHead Forum

My fire is going out when I try to hold a temperature even as high as 300 degrees. What could be wrong? First, I am new at this, but my initial fire seems to be going well, with an area the size of my fist glowing bright red. When I first close the lid, the temp approaches 400. Then I close the top vent to about 3/8 inch open, and the bottom vent about1-1/2 inch open. This brings the temp down to the low 300's in a few minutes, but after cooking 1-1/2 hour, the fire is out. The grill is stillholding heat and cooking, but the temp continues to fall and opening all vents even 100% does not rekindle the fire. It is probably a rookie error, but what?

Thanks,

RD

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    Are you burning thru all the lump you put in?
  • gtk10583
    gtk10583 Posts: 77
    Options
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,337
    edited June 2012
    Options