Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Why won't My egg go over 300 degrees

Options
Randyp
Randyp Posts: 1
edited May 2012 in EggHead Forum
I have been using Egg for about 5 months.  all of a sudden today it won't get over about 300 degrees.  Any ideas?

Comments

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options

Ash is blocking the grate. Use a wiggle rod or bend a coathanger about 5". Go in the lower vent and stick the end up the grate holes. Shake the grate gently or get a fan in the lower vent

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Gato
    Gato Posts: 766
    Options
    Almost always means your grate holes are plugged up.
    Geaux Tigers!!!
  • Gato
    Gato Posts: 766
    Options
    If your fire is lit now, use a bent coat hanger through the bottom vent to open the holes up. If it is cool clean it out before your next cook.
    Geaux Tigers!!!
  • Village Idiot
    Village Idiot Posts: 6,959
    Options
    Did you buy the Turbo Accessory?  Send me $200 and I'll mail one to you.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    Randyp, the problem is always airflow assuming you are still putting the same amount of charcoal into the cooker.  Stir the coals well and clean out any ash and chips that might be blocking airflow.  Also, if you dump a lot of small pieces of charcoal into the fire, that can block airflow through the fire itself.
    The Naked Whiz
  • Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    Options