Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chicken done at 147 degrees?!?!

Options
damnedhooligan
damnedhooligan Posts: 213
edited April 2012 in Poultry

I'm still an egghead newbie and this was my 6th cook in my XLarge BGE. So on to the details, I decided to direct grill at 350 degrees (dome temp) two large chicken chicken breasts that were about 1 1/2 inches thick. These babies were left in island mango marinade overnight. In all the steps below I maintained temperature at 350 degrees after opening to check on the chicken.

• Grilled each side for 6 mins and 30 secs and realized they were still mushy and raw meat was showing in one of the flaps. So I flipped them back to the first side and left them for another 3 mins.
  • Pulled them out and measured with the Thermapen and thicker one read at 133 degrees and the smaller at 141 degrees.
  • I left them in for another 8 mins, pulled them out and measured again, thicker one read at 143 degrees and the other at 151 degrees.
  • I left them in for another 3 mins, pulled them out and the thicker one measured at 147 degrees and the other at 157 degrees. They looked done so I got frustrated cut them open. The meat was white not too moist but with clear juices when cutting and tasted real good.