Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Your rubs

Mole351
Mole351 Posts: 110
edited May 2012 in EggHead Forum
Admitted newbie here...even to things like rubs.

Was wondering if most of you make your own rubs, or go with store bought? For most of my limited cooking career I've just used different Montreal flavors. Going to try dizzy pig as I've seen that mentioned on here a good bit.

Dumb question - are all rubs dry?

Comments

• Steel_Rain
    Steel_Rain Posts: 18
    Dizzy Pig is the bomb.  It is a great product.
  • Ragtop99
    Ragtop99 Posts: 1,570
    I think of rubs as dry and marinades as wet.

I make my own rubs.  Only few products out there are no/low salt.
    Cooking on an XL and Medium in Bethesda, MD.
  • Dizzy is a great place to start for store bought runs. Bad Byron's is another popular one for BBQ. Dizzy has all kinds of rubs and they are all good.
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • BTW- the term "dry rub" is a process (as in "I dry rubbed a brisket") not the term for the rub itself. Dry rubbing is done instead of wet marinating where you put a rub on the outside of the meat and that is where the flavor comes from.

So you can just call the product "rub" and the process of doing it "dry rub".

Hope that makes sense.
  • Duganboy
    Duganboy Posts: 1,118
    I use three rubs.  Bought the recipe for Jeff Phillips rub from the smokingmeat.com website it is good on anything.

Love 17th Street Bar and Grill rub for ribs.