Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

"Jet Engine Flames"

Options
MikeP624
MikeP624 Posts: 292
edited April 2012 in EggHead Forum

I am new to the BGE.  I was reading and commenting on another post and this topic came up.  Some post stated that they had flames coming out of the top of there egg at extreme high tempatures.

I was wondering what they were cooking at the time?  It seems if there are flames coming out the top of your egg that everything inside would be getting burnt.

Are these high temps and resulting flames only for cleaning out the inside of the egg?

Comments

• The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Options
    We were just talking about this on another thread. The flames that blow out the top are usually gas. It forms in the dome and combusts. It does not touch your food. When you get it blast furnace hot, (carefully) look in the top vent some time. It's really cool looking. Little balls of gas dancing around in there. They roll up the sides and out the top vent. it has no affect on grill service temps.
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    If food is being seared, a blue jet is fine, if scary. The food will only be exposed for a few minutes.

If one was just heating up the Egg for a lo-n-slo cook, and found a blue jet, it just means it'll be an hour or two before the Egg is cool enough for cooking.
  • MikeP624
    MikeP624 Posts: 292
    Options