Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time to post pics...some say not tue unless there's pics

forty_crk
forty_crk Posts: 52
edited April 2012 in EggHead Forum

I've been cooking on my egg for 6 years.  I normally do low and slows during the day.  This was my first attepmt at over the night...and w/ the bbq guru.  Woke up to a mishap w/ fire as previously stated on another thread.  4lb brisket (I know small) and a 8lb butt.  My goal was origianlly to cook them at 220 till done.  A friend of mine cooks one the best butts I have ever had...he cooks em at 200 (w/ a guru) for 28-30 hours.  I know that is not necassary.  I just started out attempting it.  I wound up at 250.  I pulled meat at 180.

To me I over cooked the meat or it was to dry.  No I did not wrap in foil.  But when I reheated the meat I wrapped it foil and added some marinades to help steam it.  Came out okay.  Eaters liked it a lot!!  They did not know all the issues.

Cook and learn... 

Reed- Springhill, Louisiana

Comments

• KingRover
    KingRover Posts: 115
    edited April 2012

Try cooking the butt to 195-205 next time. Pulling at 180, it might actually be underdone.

• forty_crk
    Thanks- it was above 180 but not quite 190.  I kinda got lost in the cook and forgot all I had ever read.  I wasn't pleased with the results.  I made some notes while and after the cook.  Lesson #1 always keep plenty of good lump...don't start a low and slow cook w/ small lump or the leftovers in a bag.