Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Kroger charcoal?

Coastalcooker
Coastalcooker Posts: 185
edited April 2012 in EggHead Forum
I am relatively new to egging, but have successfully used Cowboy, Publix and Royal Oak. I picked up a bag of Kroger, thinking I had heard it was RO.I put on a butt at 0430. I lit the fire with a chimney, like I always do, let the smoke clean up, stabilized at 250 and then threw in apple chunks, added the plate setter and about seven pounds of butt. The temp started climbing. I went back to bed with temp at 150 and rising. It seemed the vent was open more than normal.
When I woke at 830, temp had not reached 200. I tried a wiggle rod, and finally opened vents a lot more than normal for low and slow to reach 300. Of course I could not find Turbo Butt instructions, but the meat was fine.
last night i tried a low and slow for chicken breast only to find I had the lower vent open 3/4 of max to hold 300.
After the first cook, I took the charcoal remaining out of the firebox and the holes were not blocked.
Is it the loose nut with the lighter or is it the charcoal?
Experience is a great teacher, please share yours.
Thanks Bob
Cookin' on the coast
Shellman Bluff, GA
Medium BGE

Comments

• Griffin
    Griffin Posts: 8,200
    Weird. I've never had any problems with Kroger brand and i use it all the time. Gets plety hot (if that's what I want) or stays low.  Its supposed to be same as RO and BGE.

Rowlett, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• lousubcap