Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question about the mini

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am currently a college student living in a dorm room. I love to smoke and grill, but the things they call grills that are available on campus are junk. I haven't yet found a mini BGE on display so I am wondering about the size. Is it small enough to move indoors when I am not using it? A 9 1/2" grill sounds big enough to grill for 2 or smoke a chicken but not much more than that. Am I correct here? I have no problem dropping $200-300 for it if it really is a good usable grill/smoker combo. Any comments?

Comments

• BlueSmoke
    BlueSmoke Posts: 1,678
    Options
    SteelDragon,
    The mini is a fantastic grilling machine; small and light enough to be very portable. As to smoking; the grill sits fairly close to the coals, and that tiny little cavity heats up furiously. With lots of TLC, though, it should produce an excellent smoked bird.[p]Ken

• Rumrunner
    Rumrunner Posts: 563
    Options
    SteelDragon, the Mini weighs in at 30 lbs and is VERY portable. You are in the price range, depending on whether you buy it at a dealer or have it shipped to you. I bought mine on Ebay for $144 and that 'included' shipping and handling. The Mini is a beatiful little cooker and it is a lifetime investment, you'll be using for years and years and years ;) Here are a couple of steak pics. Don't the pics fool you, THOSE are BIG steaks and you can easily cook two at a time, same with pork chops (up to four) and a couple or more chicken breasts, etc.[p]NY Strip