Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

lighting my new egg on fire

magu
magu Posts: 2
edited March 2012 in Root
Ok, newbie here.......do you leave the lid open or just the top black vent wide open while preheating the egg? Also what do all of you use for lighting your lump charcoal? I am wondering what types of lighters work the best. thanks

Comments

• dlk7
    dlk7 Posts: 1,053
    I have an XL and I open the bottom vent wide open, start the center of my charcoal with a Looft lighter for 1 and a half minutes, close the lid, and leave the daisy wheel off for any cooks at 400 degrees or higher.  At 9 minutes I close the bottom vent to about 1 inch and let it go to about 50 degrees under my target temp.  I then open or close the bottom vent about an eighth of an inch at a time to get to my desired temp.

Two XL BGEs - So Happy!!!!

Waunakee, WI

• khristyjeff
    khristyjeff Posts: 163
    I've tried wax starters and an electric starter, but have landed on this tip I got from Village Idiot on this website: VI posted, "I like to use their (WalMart's) 91% isopropyl alcohol (rubbing alcohol) to light the fire.  Burns clean, without odor, and the byproduct is carbon dioxide."  I roll up a paper towel and soak in the alcohol.  This starts a very evenly distributed fire instead of lighting in one or 2 spots as is the case with the electric starter.  Using more wax starters would work, too, if you used several but the rubbing alcohol is cheaper.