Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Tips for setting temp

Options
doj1975
doj1975 Posts: 13
edited March 2012 in EggHead Forum
Hey guys, I'm new to the form and the BGE. I just got a large on Friday. I've already cooked on it about 4 times but i've struggled to get my temp set at a low temp. Any and all tips would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• mustgrill
    mustgrill Posts: 141
    Options

What temp are you trying to get too?

Located in Western North Carolina
  • boatbum
    boatbum Posts: 1,273
    Options

My approach for long and slow -  

Get rid of ashes ( either stir them - or clean more if I want a longer cook ).   Make sure each one of those holes in the bottom and sides are clean.   The longer the cook is - the more attention I pay to this step.

Charcoal all the way to top of fire ring.   If I want smoke, will mix in some wood chunks throughout charcoal.

Kinda dig a little indentation couple of inches down in one or two places ( I prefer the back 10 and 2 o'clock ).  Have done many times with just 1 location and did ok, but many reccomend 2 to eliminate the straight down burn.   I think having it at the back, with the air flowing from the front takes care of that.

Light and drop a firestarter block in each indentation, stack a couple of pieces of lump over it.  With lid open, bottom vent all the way open - wait for 2+ inch visible flames.   Kinda a baseball size area lit up.  2-4 minutes normally.    Close lid, bottom vent still wide open, top vent cap removed.

Note: many people have put in the plate setter at this point - I prefer to wait.