Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Anyone ever cooked venison on their egg

Deckchef
Deckchef Posts: 40
edited February 2012 in EggHead Forum
Just wondering how it was cooked and how it turned out ??

Comments

• Lowflyer
    Lowflyer Posts: 785
    I did venison burgers (newbie here) at too high of heat (500). They were seared and tasty, but next time I will back it down to about 350 and slow done the cook time.
  • hogaholic
    hogaholic Posts: 225
    edited February 2012
    All the time. 

I take ground venison and mix with some ground beef, wochestershire, a beaten egg per pound of meat, breadcrumbs and whatever seasoning I am into that night.  Press into 1/4 to 1/3 lb burgers and cook to about medium on the flat side of the cast iron grate over a hot fire (450-550 dome.

I also cook a lot of whole tenderloin.  Marinade in whatever you wish, season like you want, just don't cook beyond medium rare.  The only way to screw this up is to overcook it.  Pull at about 125-130
    Jackson, Tennessee. VFL (Vol for Life)
  • Thanks for the input , I'm supposed to be getting a shoulder roast from a coworker soon
  • I used to get the shoulder roasts, steaks, etc.  My son and I take 3-5 deer a year and we now get them processed into just ground meat and tenderloin.  I don't mess with the roasts anymore because I couldn't get them tender enough to be very good (pre-egg days however).