Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Bring the pork shoulder knowledge!

floatingbuzzard
floatingbuzzard Posts: 38
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
First pork shoulder cook. Can I get some help?
10# shoulder
At what internal temp should I pull off?
And any other words of wisdom would be appreciated.
"I'm to drunk to taste this chicken!" - Colonel Sanders. Memphis, TN

Comments

• Hi54putty
    Hi54putty Posts: 1,873
    I'm not an expert but have had good luck cooking at 250 indirect until internal temp of 195. In my experience, a shoulder is hard to screw up.
    XL,L,S 
    Winston-Salem, NC 
  • Good. I did a roast, and it went well. Do you rap it in foil and let it rest a while? When it is done I mean.
  • Cook it to 195 or so. Wrap in foil for and place in a preheated cooler for a few hours and then pull/shred. ;)
    2 Large Eggs and no chickens. How's that work? :)
  • Hi54putty
    I have wrapped mine and let it sit out for an hour.  They were perfect. I think the cooler (with a towel around the shoulder) is a good option for a longer hold.
    XL,L,S 
    Winston-Salem, NC 
  • Griffin
    Griffin Posts: 8,200
    The great thing about a shoulder is they are very forgiving and they have a built in thermometer. When that bone starts to wiggle and you can pull it out clean, you are done. (about 195-205) and yes, let it rest in foil.

Rowlett, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,167