Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Any advice on dry aging beef?

Options
Village Idiot
Village Idiot Posts: 6,959
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
I know dry aging beef has been an oft discussed topic, but upon searching, I do not see much help for the complete novice.

In googling, I see that there is such a thing as a dry bag and a Retractable Snorkel Sealer, but I don't know if I need all that stuff.  I would appreciate your experience in this.

Thanks.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
Just west of Austintatious

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,740
    Options
    put it on a lower shelf in the fridge on a rack and wait 42 days, thats it. the whole primal, ribeye is best even if your not a ribeye fan. thats it, its simple, its the cheapest way, and its worked over and over. stikes not dead yet
    :))
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Village Idiot
    Options
    Thanks, fish.  But, don't you have to completely vacuum out the air and have a bag that releases moisture but doesn't let bacteria in?

Dripping Springs, Texas.

• fishlessman
    Options
    no, rinse the primal off, pat it dry, put it in the fridge. dry bags are new, dry aging is old. start with choice or better, the whole roast, not a steak. im starting one now and ive eaten and not died from stikes ribeye. its really that easy, not confusing at all
    fukahwee maine

• fishlessman
    Options
    thats the cliff notes version, they have the long version on the web
    fukahwee maine

• Village Idiot
    Options