Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help please! I can't keep the temp low enough

gooddogjudge
gooddogjudge Posts: 106
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
started my fire and can't get the egg below 300.  Vents are open to a fraction of an inch.  trying to maintain 250 for a boston butt

what say you, eggsperts??

Comments

• started my fire and can't get the egg below 300.  Vents are open to a fraction of an inch.  trying to maintain 250 for a boston butt

what say you, eggsperts??

I am no expert but had a similar issue earlier this week with ribs.
    Put the butt in if you are stable at 300 with clean smoke, the temp will drop when you do that.
    With the ribs I never did get down to 250, but it did stabile at 260.
    Then an expert can give additional advice.
  • Austin  Egghead
    Austin Egghead Posts: 3,966
    edited January 2012
    Lower vent barely open?  Are you using only the dome thermometer?  Have you calibrated your egg thermometer to verify reading correctly?  Is butt on the grill yet?
    Large, small and mini now Egging in Rowlett Tx
  • DMurf
    DMurf Posts: 481
    Have you calibrated your thermometer? 

Remove the thermometer and place the tip in a pot of boiling water, it should read 212 degrees.
    David
    BBQ since 2010 - Oh my, what I was missing.