Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Shoulder Clod

unit26
unit26 Posts: 53
edited January 2012 in Beef
I have got a 15 pound clod that I am going to cook on my XL BGE.  I have cooked them on other grills before, but this is the first one on the BGE, as I just got the egg from Santa.  I cook these instead of briskets because I find there is less wastage.    If anyone has any clod experience I would love to hear it.  I am just getting into cooking by internal temps instead of look and feel, so any suggestions on internal temp?   I have found the members of this forum are not your everyday grillers so I wait in anticipation for replys.  

Comments

• ChokeOnSmoke
    ChokeOnSmoke Posts: 1,942
    edited January 2012
    When you say "Shoulder Clod", I assume you are talking about beef shoulder - a.k.a. chuck roast?

Not many things I like better on the EGG.  My technique is as simple as it gets.  Cover in worchester, apply favorite rub heavily,  cook indirect until it reaches 200-205 internal.  Pull off, wrap in foil and put in cooler with towels for an hour or so.  Then "pull it" just like a pork butt.  Mmmm..Wish I was cooking one of those right now....!
    Packerland, Wisconsin

• unit26
    ChokeOnSmoke,

That looks freaking great.   I am pumped now.   Any idea how long to get to 200 to 205?
  • ChokeOnSmoke
    I have some notes at home on my last one.  When something turns out good I usually write it down and put it in a folder.  I'll post back when I get home on how big it was and how long it took.
    Packerland, Wisconsin

• unit26