Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How do I know if my gasket is toast?

D1RTY_D
D1RTY_D Posts: 5
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
First off I think the search function on this forum could be the worst I have ever used.

Now to my question, I am fairly new to BGE but am loving it, I read a lot of posts about changing gaskets but how do I know if I killed it and how would I prevent it from getting toasted?  Any direction would be great thanks.

Comments

• joe@bge
    joe@bge Posts: 394
    High temps using the placesetter have proven to be problematic for the gasket for me.  I have had my Eggs for over a year and have replaced the gasket on my large once.  I noticed smoke escaping between the lid and bottom and that provoked me to replace it.  I don't know if the replacement is made better (std BGE gasket) but Its been on for 6 months and looks as good as new.
  • Tweev,

Now we can see why Hillbilly put you in charge of the welcoming committee.

• bigguy136
    bigguy136 Posts: 1,362
    Welcome dirty d.
    All I read, everyone is split on if you even need a gasket or not. I do mostly low and slow cooks and my gasket looks like new. I feel it's the higher temps that will kill it. I guess the only way not to kill the OEM gasket is to watch your high temp. There are other sealing methods that can take higher temps as well. In the end, if you can seal off enough air to get the temps you want and you can snuff out any un-used lump, your gasket is still good enough.

Sometimes I will go to sub-levels (Beef, Pork ect) and start my search there.